Read it now, or read it later?

ImageUsually when I’m using a device with internet access I end with between 8 and 12 tabs open of photos I want to drool over, videos I want to check out, or articles I know are interesting, but with so many interesting things out there who has time to read them all right as they come up?

I used to solve this problem by, each time I came upon something new and intriguing, bookmarking it into an aptly named folder (examples: “Things to Watch Later” where I’d put my Netflix movie queue; “Because the real world is sososososo hard” where I linked to all the graduate school programs I wasn’t actually interested in applying to yet; and “Wow, not fair.” where I kept pictures of food that looked too good to be real and recipes involving spices I’m sure only existed during a time of Carthaginian rule). Unfortunately, the folder that always remained fullest was the dreaded “Other” where EVERYTHING ELSE WAS LUMPED.

It couldn’t continue. Much like a large company that everyone thought was too big to fail, I’d covered up my lack of organization with a leaning tower of pretty labels and reassuring smiles. I needed something new. Preferably something with an attractive typeface and a well-coordinated color grid. And also, obviously, a cute name.

This, dear public, is where Pocket comes in. Pocket is a re-naming, re-branding of an app called “Read-It-Later.” You begin by installing the app on your web browser, the pocket icon inserts itself in the upper right hand corner, and when you see something interesting, click the icon and it essentially allows you to “pocket” information from the web to your iOS, Android, or Kindle device for later perusal. If you sync Pocket while connected to the world wide web, you can effortlessly browse while completely offline. The app presents the content you pocket “stripped of the usual clutter of navigation, buttons, and sidebars (and notably, ads)” as one review put it. Pocket makes your internet browsing experience neater overall, and along with saving text-heavy sites, you can pocket images and videos for later perusal. You can, after pocketing, filter through your pocketed items by content type or by tags that you’ve given them.

ImageImage

Image

If you’re already married to a “read-it-later” type of app, I’d recommend checking out Pocket for its striking design and extremely readability. If you’ve been searching for something to use, then as a cluttered internet browser myself, I wholeheartedly recommend Pocket App.

For another (complimentary) review of Pocket App, peep what The Verge has to say!

-Tayarisha

ps: this video was well made, fun to watch, and gives you a chance to see Pocket in action:

Leave a Reply

