Chelsea Dommert – Hoesley Reflection 2012

My name is Chelsea Dommert and I was part of the Hoesley Digital Literacy Program during the 2011-2012 school year. I came to the program hoping to learn more about web design as well and Microsoft Office tools, particularly Excel.

In learning throughout the program the subscription to Lynda.com proved one of the most useful tools. The instructional videos on this website acquainted me with the advanced functions for InDesign, Photoshop, and Google tools. Its comprehensive video database covers tasks that I didn’t even know some of this software could perform! Besides Lynda.com, I learned the most from the WICshops at Weigle. Ms. Vedantham instructs with great clarity and patience; she creates an environment that is low-stress and conducive to learning, which diametrically opposes the high-stress, fast-paced computer seminars that I have attended in the past.

I have used my new computer skills to enhance the appearance and content of one of my blogs, coachingthecox.com, a WordPress blog where I post resources to help crew coaches from a rowing background understand and coach their coxswains. I build all of the resources from scratch using data I have gathered over years of rowing experience. However, my new understanding of Microsoft Excel and pivot tables have allowed me to spot patterns in my data and access historical data far more efficiently than before, allowing me to draw more lessons from my data and, eventually, plan and build more coaching resources for online distribution.

One thought on “Chelsea Dommert – Hoesley Reflection 2012

Leave a Reply

